Budget Hacks for Gluten Free Healthy Baking

IMG_0019 (3)

Since I’ve started using healthier and higher quality baking ingredients I sometimes feel selfish spending what I need to to keep a stocked pantry. I bake several times a week so as soon as I see my supply dwindle I get that familiar twinge of baker’s regret. In fact, some of my best recipes come from trying to scrape together what I have left to make something for a snack or breakfast the following day. (see coconut cookies)
But a girl needs to eat, and when you need to make 99% of your food from scratch, having ingredients on hand to do so is a necessity. I’ve written about this before but I can’t express enough how discount stores can save you money on some of these products. So I thought I’d update everyone on some of my more recent finds out and about.
Big Lots this week has Maranatha Almond and Cashew Butters for $3.00. (seriously, $3.00) They also have Enjoy Life Bars for $1.50, my husband loves the Very Berry kind of these so this was a score. I can’t eat them because they contain sunflower seeds but if you can, $1.50! Rejoice! I can often find Sunmaid dried apricots there for about $2.00 less than Supermarket cost and organic beans for about $1.00 less. I’ve also been finding organic juice for my 4 year old there for $1. They also still carry a selection of Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Products although I’d say the savings are so so, unless your supermarket really hikes prices.
For non-necessity sweets Yum Earth Gummie Candies, fruit drops, and fruit snacks can be found at Home Goods and Burlington Coat Factory at hugely discounted prices. They also have a wide selection of other sweets only found online as well as Coconut Oil, Gluten Free Flour, Coconut Sugar, Maple Syrup, Gluten Free Cake Mixes, and Almond Butter for dollars less than the supermarket.
My favoritest so far of the Coconut Sugars is Madhava which I saw a week or two ago at Burlington for $2.00 below the supermarket price.
Shoprite sells Enjoy Life chips for $2.00 less than I’ve seen them at Whole Foods and Acme. And Target has the cheapest prices on So Delicious Ice Cream that I’ve found so far although that ice cream is so pricey I still only buy it about once every month or two.
Shopping around isn’t your only way to save. Changing your recipes can also be helpful. Some of my favorite cook book recipes for gluten free vegan baked goods call for loads of coconut oil. Coconut oil is crazy expensive (especially if you have a nut allergy in your home and need a very specific kind). Every time I see a recipe for 1 cup of coconut oil or 3/4 cup maple syrup I cringe (not to mention the fat content eesh). But these flavors can still be achieved without the expense. Coconut oil can be partially subbed with coconut milk and applesauce or bananas can often be added instead for almost the same results. Sometimes these changes don’t always work but if you play with what your making, reducing the fat a bit at a time, you’ll get yourself there.
Buying in bulk when possible is also a huge help, when you find a sale stock up. Coconut oil rarely goes on sale so when it does I usually buy a few containers. (just check dates) Writing to companies about coupons or asking your local supermarket for products you can only find online will also help you save on shipping costs.
For produce, we only shop from local farms. While I wish we could buy all organic, when you can’t afford it, buying from local farms is the next best thing. The cost is at least two times cheaper than the supermarket and local farms tend to use less chemicals and pesticides in how they process their foods.
Not near any local farms? Trader Joe’s and Aldi both usually have very reasonably priced produce.

Leave a Reply

