Gluten Free Vegan Coconut Cookies~Refined Sugar Free, Corn Free, Soy Free

DSC_0472

Pssst! I’m seriously in love with coconut sugar. While I used to get all starry eyed taking a whiff of brown sugar, I now only have eyes for the rich delicious smell of the inside of my coconut sugar bag. Coconut sugar has a unique taste that is both savory and sweet and works well in just about any recipe (except sugar cookies and snickerdoodles, not much success there). When it comes to making cookie recipes, I find most of my cookies these days aren’t overly sweet so coconut sugar works well. If I’m looking to bake something with a sweeter taste, I will add Enjoy Life Chips, which you can certainly do here, I’d say about a 1/2 cups worth. But I find these cookies are delicious on their own or maybe sandwiched with some So Delicious ice cream on a hot day!

This recipe makes a wonderfully soft and crisp along the edges cookie that highlights the coconut contained within. It is not like a macaroon, not nearly as sweet, but is reminiscent of a blondie in flavor with an added coconut kick. This may be my favorite recipe I’ve made yet! Hopefully you’ll love it too!

GF SF CF Vegan Coconut Cookies ~ Makes 10 large cookies
Preheat Oven to 350

1 1/2 cups 1 to 1 Bob’s Red Mill Flour
1/2 cup shredded coconut (I also used Bob’s Red Mill)
1/2 cup coconut sugar (I use Madhava)
1/4 cup coconut oil soft (I use Carrington Farms)
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1/4 cup coconut milk
1 tsp baking soda

Combine dry ingredients then add wet, mix with hands to get desired dough like consistency. If you aren’t much for using your hands you could probably use a fancy mixer to get the dough to it’s proper consistency. Scoop by heaping rounded tbs onto a lined or greased cookie sheet. Flatten dough out with hands so you have a beautifully round cookie, cookie will not spread on baking sheet. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes or until edges just begin to brown, eat your cookie all greedy like. Enjoy!DSC_0479

Leave a Reply

