Easy No Fuss Gluten Free Vegan Almond Butter Oatmeal Cookies

DSC_0409

Baking isn’t always easy, it can be messy, and when you have a lot to do the clean up alone can seem like an insurmountable task. That’s why for me I find the best time to bake is when I’m already in the kitchen cooking a meal. The extra clean up isn’t as daunting and I can fit my prep work in between the wait times of my other dishes. Last night as I cooked what turned out to be a super delicious vegan mac n not cheese (the secret is potatoes!), I decided to attempt a cookie recipe I had been craving. Although I’ve never been much of a peanut person I do sometimes get a hankerin’ which is a no no with my peanut allergic husband around. So on this particular evening an almond butter cookie reminiscent of my childhood peanut butter cookies were in order and boy were they tasty!

Almond Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Preheat oven to 350
Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper
Combine dry ingredients then wet, working with your hands to form a firm dough. Place by rounded tbs onto your cookie sheet and press in a criss cross with your fork. Bake 7-9 minutes allowing to cool before removing. This will make 10 larger sized cookies or can make a dozen if you round your tbs smaller.

1/2 Cup Gluten Free Oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill GF Steel Cut Oats)
1/2 Cup Brown Rice Flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill Stone Milled)
1/2 Cup Bob’s Red Mill 1 to 1 Flour
1/2 Cup Coconut Sugar (I use Madhava)
1/4 Cup Coconut Milk
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 Cup Almond Butter (I used Chunky Barney Butter which does not use peanuts in their facility)

These cookies are soft with just the right amount of crunch from the chunky almond butter. You don’t notice the oats so much but they give them a bit of texture and prevent them from being oily mush globs. This recipe is not overly sweet which is how I like things these days. You can guiltless-ly eat these as breakfast or dessert…or at least I did!

Leave a Reply

